Eye exam

About the College

The College of Optometrists of British Columbia guides and regulates the profession of optometry in the public interest to ensure that the public receives safe, ethical, and effective optometric services in BC. The College achieves this by establishing and enforcing entry to practice requirements, standards of practice and standards of conduct. Our authority to do so is derived from the Health Professions Act.

Optometry in BC became a self-regulating profession in 1921. Our values include integrity, transparency, and accountability.

Self-regulation is established when the government acknowledges that a profession has the competency and knowledge required to set standards and judge the conduct of its members to act in the best interests of the public.

Board members and College staff collaboratively developed the 2018-2020 Strategic Plan.

Board of Directors

The College is governed by a Board of Directors who ensures registrants provide high standards of optometric care to British Columbians.

The Board is the College‚Äôs governing body and must govern, control and administer the affairs of the College in accordance with the HPAOptometrists Regulation and College Bylaws and College Policies The Board is comprised of three members appointed by the Ministry of Health and six volunteer members elected by College members to serve the public interest.

Board Meetings are open to the public and held at least four times each year. The dates for upcoming meetings are posted here.

Elected members:

Dr. Sally Donaldson, Chair

Dr. Justin Asgarpour, Vice Chair

Dr. Kimberly Tsang

Dr. Jaelyn McComas

Dr. Harmeet Waraich

Dr. Kelly Tokar

Appointed Public members:

Mr. Joseph P. A. Finamore

Ms. Joyce Kenoras

Ms. Concetta Risi