

## COLLEGE OF OPTOMETRISTS OF BC

Board Meeting Minutes September 15, 2011 Telephone Conference Call Approved October 3, 2011

1 of 1

## CALL TO ORDER AND INTRODUCTIONS

PRESENT: Dr. Dale Dergousoff

Dr. Tanya Flood Dr. Jeffrey Mann Ms. Barbara Buchanan Mr. David MacPherson Mr. James L. Grey Dr. Robin Simpson Stanka Jovicevic

The Chair, Dr. D. Dergousoff called the meeting to order at 6:00 pm. A quorum was present, and the meeting, having been duly convened, was ready to proceed with business.

This meeting was conducted in accordance with Robert's Rules, pursuant to Bylaw 26. Special rules were adopted that limit discussion to 3 minutes per person during the first round of debate and to 2 minutes per person during the second round.

Whereas; Dr. Kenneth Lawenda sent an email on July 5, 2011 expressing his intention to resign from the Board as he was moving out of our jurisdiction.

**MOTION 1:** The Board accepts Dr. Lawenda's resignation effective July 5, 2011 pursuant to Bylaw 10(2).

\_\_\_\_\_\_

Whereas; the Board of the College has a vacancy of an elected Board position and Dr. Pardeep Dhillon has agreed to serve in that position, if appointed.

**MOTION 2:** Pursuant to Bylaw 12(1), by special resolution, the Board appoints Dr. Pardeep Dhillon to serve on the Board until the next scheduled election.

Carried

------

Whereas; this item of business concerns the request for appointment to the Board of the College of Optometrists of British Columbia, and such disclosure does not serve the public interest.

MOTION 3: The board resolves to enter into executive session pursuant to Bylaw 15 (7) (a).

Carried

Conference call adjourned at 6:20 p.m.